Up and Coming

Up and Coming from AM Pharma, Dyne Therapeutics and Ocugen

October 7, 2019

This feature highlights changes in clinical research organizations’ personnel.

Adaptimmune Therapeutics
Adaptimmune Therapeutics has added to its leadership with Michael Garone named interim chief financial officer. Garone previously served as the CFO and interim chief executive officer at Immunomedics in New Jersey.

Alphabet (Google)
Former FDA commissioner Robert Califf has been named head of medical strategy and policy at Alphabet, a subsidiary of Google. He will head their Google Health and Verily units starting in mid-November.

AM Pharma
AM Pharma has named Juliance Bernholz chief operating officer and Kristie Bass as vice president of clinical operations. Bernholz joined from Janssen Research and Development in New Jersey where she served as compound development team leader. Prior to joining AM Pharma, Bass served as senior director of project delivery at PRA Health Sciences, a North Carolina-based CRO.

Arix Bioscience
Arix Bioscience has appointed Marcus Karia to the position of group finance director. Karia was most recently with Arix Bioscience as the group financial controller.

Avidity Biosciences
Sarah Boyce has been named president and chief executive officer at Avidity Biosciences. Boyce was previously president of Akcea Therapeutics.

Biogen has named Alfred Sandrock executive vice president of research and development in addition to his role as chief medical officer and Alphonse Galdes executive vice president of pharmaceutical operations and technology. Previously, Sandrock served as CMO at Biogen; Galdes was most recently at Biogen as senior vice president of asset development and portfolio management.

CURE Pharmaceutical
CURE Pharmaceutical named Vered Gigi chief science officer. Gigi was previously vice president of strategy and business development at CURE.

Deciphera Pharmaceuticals
Deciphera Pharmaceuticals has named Matthew Sherman executive vice president and chief medical officer. Previously, Sherman was CMO at Acceleron Pharma for 12 years.

Dyne Therapeutics
Joshua Brumm has been appointed chief executive officer at Dyne Therapeutics. Brumm is the former chief operating officer and chief financial officer of Kaleido Biosciences.

HemoShear Therapeutics
Brian Johns has been named chief science officer at HemoShear Therapeutics. Previously, Johns served as a vice president of external discovery sciences in the GlaxoSmithKline-owned unit ViiV Healthcare, where he co-created one of the most widely used HIV drugs in the world.

ImmunoPrecise Antibodies
ImmunoPrecise Antibodies has named Stefan Lang chief business officer. Previously, Lang served as vice president of business development with Aldevron.

Inversago Pharma, Inc. named Caroline Fradette vice president, clinical research. Fradette was previously director, clinical research at ApoPharma.

Jnana Therapeutics
Jnana Therapeutics has appointed Caroline Stark Beer as chief business officer. Beer was most recently vice president and head of business development at Alnylam Pharmaceuticals.

Nektar Therapeutics
Nektar Therapeutics has appointed Jonathan Zalevsky chief research and development officer and Gil Labrucherie chief operating officer. Zalevsky was most recently chief science officer at Nektar. Labrucherie was promoted from his role of chief financial officer at the company.

Neurocrine Biosciences
Neurocrine Biosciences has named David Boyer as chief corporate affairs officer. Boyer most recently served as principal and head of the health and life sciences practice at the BGP Group.

Timothy Mayer was named chief operating officer at NextCure. Previously, Mayer was senior vice president of corporate development with the company.

Obsidian Therapeutics
Erin Boyer has been named vice president, human resources at Obsidian Therapeutics. Boyer most recently served as global head of talent strategy and planning at Alnylam.

Ocugen has named Sanjay Subramanian chief financial officer. Subramanian was most recently CFO at Aralez Pharmaceuticals.

PACT Pharma
Tim Moore was named president and chief technical officer at PACT Pharma. Previously, Moore was executive vice president of technical operations at Kite, a Gilead Company.

Precision BioSciences
Nicholas Riddle has been named vice president of financial strategy and investor relations with Precision BioSciences. Riddle most recently served as an executive director in J.P. Morgan’s healthcare investment banking group.

Pulmotect has appointed Colin Broom chief executive officer. Broom was most recently CEO with Nabriva Therapeutics.

Rafael Pharmaceuticals
Wendy McDermott was named the first ever chief people officer at Rafael Pharmaceuticals. Previously, McDermott was vice president of human resources at Sanofi.

Sangama Therapeutics
Bettina Cockroft has been named senior vice president and chief medical officer at Sangama Therapeutics. Cockroft is a former member of the senior leadership team responsible for clinical development at Cytokinetics.

Sonoma Pharmaceuticals
Sonoma Pharmaceuticals has named Amy Trombly interim chief executive officer and promoted John Dal Poggetto to chief financial officer. Trombly previously served as corporate and securities counsel for Sonoma Pharmaceuticals; Dal Poggetto served as Sonoma’s executive vice president of finance.

Israel-based Teva Pharmaceutical Industries has appointed Eric Drapé as executive vice president, global operations. Drapé was most recently group EVP, global quality and biologics operations with the company.

Torque Therapeutics
Torque Therapeutics has named John Cox chief executive officer. Cox was most recently CEO at Bioverativ.

Carmen Bozic has been appointed executive president of global medicines development and medical affairs at Vertex Pharmaceuticals. Bozic previously served as senior vice president of global development at Biogen.

Vor Biopharma
Sadik Kassim has been named chief technology officer and Tirtha Chakraborty has been named vice president of research at Vor Biopharma. Kassim is the former executive director at Kite Pharma; Chakraborty most recently served as vice president of cell therapy research with Sana Biotechnology.