Up and Coming

Up and Coming from Aperio, CASI Pharmaceuticals and Illumina

September 30, 2019

This feature highlights changes in clinical research organizations’ personnel.

AGC Biologics
Naofumi Kagami was named site head and general manager of the Chiba, Japan facility at AGC Biologics. Previously, Kagami was head of bioprocess solution sales with Sartorius Stedim Japan and marketing manager with Roche.

Adicet has appointed Francesco Galimi senior vice president and chief medical officer. Galimi was most recently with Amgen where he held the position of global program general manager of early development.

Aperio Clinical Outcomes has appointed Jennifer Hodak director of talent acquisition. Hodak was most recently with SRG Woolf Group where she served as senior director.

Artois Pharma
Tania Dimitrova was named chief business officer, New York, as part of expansion efforts to the U.S. for Artois Pharma Limited. Previously, Kagami was a director in worldwide business development, leading partnership, licensing, M&A and externalization transactions at Pfizer.

Beam Therapeutics has named Brian Riley senior vice president of technical operations. Previously, Riley was vice president of operations at Catalent.

Biom’up SA has named Patrice Ferrand chief executive officer and Evelyne Nguyen group chief financial officer. George Makhoul has been appointed chief executive officer of Biom’up USA, Inc. Ferrand was previously CEO at Unilabs France, Nguyen is the founder and general director at ANMPARTNERS SAS and Makhoul was formerly chief compliance officer with the company.

Black Diamond Therapeutics
Christopher Roberts has been named chief scientific officer at Black Diamond Therapeutics. Roberts was previously an entrepreneur in residence for SR One, the corporate venture capital arm of GlaxoSmithKline.

CANbridge Pharmaceuticals
CANbridge Pharmaceuticals has named Lisa Li vice president of rare disease and Lily Liu as head of market access. Li was most recently the commercial director for Rheumatology in the Japan-Asia Pacific region at AbbVie. Liu was previously head of central market access for oncology and rare disease products at Novartis Oncology China.

CASI Pharmaceuticals
CASI Pharmaceuticals has named Larry Zhang president. Previously, Zhang served as president of CASI Pharmaceutical’s Beijing, China operating subsidiary since 2018.

Catabasis Pharmaceuticals
Andrew Komjathy has been named chief commercial officer at Catabasis Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Komjathy is the former vice president, commercial sales at Alkermes, Inc.

Cerebral Therapeutics
Cerebral Therapeutics has added to its leadership with John Foster named president and chief operating officer. Foster previously founded CNS Therapeutics and served as chief executive officer before it was bought by Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals.

ENYO Phamra
ENYO Pharma has named Johnathan Lieber chief financial officer. Lieber is currently managing director of Danforth Advisors and most recently served as chief financial officer at Histogenics Corporation.

Fluid Analytics
Joe Keegan has been named chairman at Fluid Analytics. Keegan was previously chief executive officer at ForteBio.

FogPharma has appointed Fang Wang as vice president of biology and Nancy Wilker as vice president and lead IP counsel. Wang was most recently director of biology at Agios Pharmaceuticals and Wilker was IP counsel at Biogen.

FORMA Therapeutics
FORMA Therapeutics has appointed Todd Shegog senior vice president and chief financial officer and Patrick Kelly senior vice president and chief medical officer. Shegog was most recently CFO for Synlogic. Kelly lead translational clinical activities for FORMA’s portfolio of small molecule therapeutics since 2016.

Warren Hutton has been appointed president at Healthstat. Hutton was the general counsel and chief operating officer at the company for the past 15 years.

HemoShear Therapeutics
Brian Johns has been appointed chief scientific officer at HemoShear Therapeutics, LLC. Johns is the former director, HIV medicinal chemistry at GlaxoSmithKline.

Illumina named Joydeep Goswami senior vice president of corporate development and strategic planning. Goswami was previously president of the clinical NGS and oncology division at Thermo Fisher Scientific.

IntuitiveX has named Desney Tan senior advisor and chief technologist. Tan joined from Microsoft where he was general manager of Microsoft Healthcare.

Inversago Pharma, Inc. named Caroline Fradette vice president, clinical research. Fradette was previously director, clinical research at ApoPharma.

JenaValve Technology
JenaValve Technology has named Vinny Podichetty vice president of clinical affairs and Jeff Thiel vice president of operations. Previously, Podichetty served as vice president of global clinical and regulatory affairs at IRRAS; Thiel was president and chief executive officer of Devax.

Mitsubishi Tanabe
Gustavo Suarez Zambrano
has been named vice president of medical affairs at Mitsubishi Tanabe Pharma America, Inc. Previously, Suarez Zambrano served as the lead medical director, U.S. clinical development and medical affairs for Novartis.

Christine Mikail has been named president at Neurogene. Previously, Mikail served as the principal for Ferndale Advisors and an adjunct professor at Rutgers Business School.

Nimbus Therapeutics
Nimbus Therapeutics has appointed Christine Loh senior vice president, head of biology. Previously, Loh was vice president of translational medicine at Kymera Therapeutics.

Noven Pharmaceuticals
Noven Pharmaceuticals has named Naruhito Higo as chief executive officer. Higo most recently served as head of research and development at Hisamitsu, Noven’s parent company.

Omega Therapeutics
Mahesh Karande has been named president and chief financial officer at Omega Therapeutics. Karande most recently served as president and chief executive officer of Macrolide Pharmaceuticals and as an executive at Novartis AG.

James Winkler has been named vice president of discovery and translational biology and Michael Carruthers has been named chief financial officer at OnKure. Winkler was vice president of discovery and translational biology at FORMA Therapeutics. Carruthers was previously with Nivalis Therapeutics where he served as interim president, chief financial officer and secretary.

OS Therapies
Robert Petit has been named chief medical and scientific advisor. Petit most recently served as chief science officer for Advaxis.

Oyster Point Pharma
Dan Lochner has been named chief financial officer and John Snisarenko has been named chief commercial officer. Lochner was most recently managing director at Goldman Sachs; Snisarenko was group vice president and head of ophthalmic business at Shire, now Takeda.

Passage Bio
Gary Romano has been named chief medical officer at Passage Bio. Romano previously led Janssen research and development as the head of clinical development for neurodegenerative disease and deputy leader of the neurodegenerative disease therapeutic area.

Precision BioSciences
David Thomson was named chief operating officer at Precision BioSciences. Thomson most recently served as chief development officer at the company since 2017.

SOPHiA Genetics
Gaëtan Fraikin and Sergei Yakneen have been named chief marekting officer and chief information officer at SOPHiA Genetics. Fraikin’s most recent appointment was with Roche where he was head of global marketing, ditigal & brand, clinical sequencing solutions. Yakneen was previously senior technical officer with EMBL in Germany.

Thrive Earlier Detection
Thrive Earlier Detection has named Seema Bhan senior vice president of public policy and external affairs. Bahn most recently served vice president and head of public policy for Foundation Medicine.

Vivex Biologics
Peter Wehrly has been named chief executive officer of Vivex Biologics. Wehrly was previously executive chairman of the board at Synaptive Medical.