Skip Navigation

Advertise|Press|Contact|FAQ|CWConnect

Bookmark/Print/Share

Home » Clinical Trials » Arrhythmia

Clinical Trial Details

Overview

Research Study Summary

A clinical trial seeking patients for a research study for the treatment of Arrhythmia

Research Study Title

FREEZE Cohort Study

Purpose

Safety and efficacy in radiofrequency (RF) or cryoballoon atrial fibrillation (AF) ablation will be investigated in a cohort study design in experienced electrophysiologic (EP) centers analyzing propensity-matched cohorts. Prior to participation in the cohort-study each EP center had to perform a minimum of 50 RF or 50 cryoballoon approaches. To insure the consecutiveness of recruitment, participating centers have to announce the intention to ablate the patient prior to the procedure to the coordinating center in Ludwigshafen. After inclusion of 500 patients with well accepted criteria for AF ablation undergoing cryoballoon pulmonary vein isolation (PVI) in experienced german EP centers inclusion of patients will be extended to european centers. A total of 4.000 patients will be included in the cohort-study, 2.000 in both the cryoballoon and the RF arm.

To Learn more
Gender

Both Male and Female

Age

18 and up

Overall Status

Recruiting

Lead Sponsor

Stiftung Institut fuer Herzinfarktforschung

Duration

49 Months

Facility Type

N/A

Eligibility

Both Male and Female ages 18 Years and up

Inclusion Criteria:

  • Documented paroxysmal AF (2 episodes of PAF within the last 3 months) or Persistent AF (lasting < 1 year)

  • First ablation of AF

  • Age ≥18 years

  • Documented inefficacy of at least 1 AAD not including β-blockers

  • Written informed consent

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Longstanding persistent AF lasting > 1 year

  • Acute coronary syndrome (ACS)

  • Heart failure NYHA IV

  • Thrombocytosis, thrombocytopenia

  • Any condition contraindicating chronic anticoagulation

  • Stroke or TIA within 6 months prior to ablation

  • Uncontrolled hyperthyroidism

  • Pregnancy

  • Life expectancy < 1 year

Site Locations (37)

Country State City Zip Facility and Contact
United States North Carolina Asheville 28803 Mission Hospital, Inc.
Joseph J Souza, MD
jsouza@avlcard.com
Austria Linz 4020 Allgemeines KH Linz
Clemens steinwender, Dr.
clemens.steinwender@akh.Linz.at
Germany Aschaffenburg 63739 Klinikum Aschaffenburg
Guido Groschup, Dr.
rhythmologie@klinikum-aschaffenburg.de
Germany Bad Krozingen Herz-Zentrum Bad Krozingen
Thomas Arentz, MD
thomas.arentz@herzzentrum.de
Germany Bad Nauheim Kerckhoff-Klinik
Heinz-Friedrich Pitschner, MD
h.pitschner@kerckhoff-klinik.de
Germany Bad Neustadt 97616 Herz- und Gefäßklinik Bad Neustadt; Klinik für Kardiologie II
Thomas Deneke, Prof. Dr.
thomas.deneke@kardiologie-bad-neustadt.de
Germany Bad Oeynhausen Herz- und Diabeteszentrum
Georg Nölker, MD
gnoelker@hdz-nrw.de
Germany Berlin 13353 Deutsches Herzzentrum Berlin (Kardiologie)
Hong Gerds-Li, Prof. Dr.
gerds-li@DHZB.de
Germany Berlin Vivantes Klinikum Am Urban
Dietrich Andresen, MD
Dietrich.Andresen@vivantes.de
Germany Bielefeld 33604 Klinikum Bielelfeld - Klinik für Kardiologie und internistische Intensivmedizin
Christoph Stellbrink, Prof. Dr.
christoph.stellbrink@sk-bielefeld.de
Germany Bonn 53105 Universitätsklinikum Bonn (Med. Klinik und Poliklinik II)
Jan Schrickel, PD Dr.
Jan.Schrickel@ukb.uni-bonn.de
Germany Coburg Klinikum Coburg
Johannes Brachmann, MD
johannes.brachmann@klinikum-coburg.de
Germany Dresden Praxisklinik Herz und Gefäße
Stefan G. Spitzer, MD
prof.spitzer@praxisklinik-dresden.de
Germany Essen 45138 Elisabeth-Krankenhaus Essen; Klinik für Kardiologie und Angiologie
Georg von Sabin, Prof. Dr.
g.v.sabin@contilia.de
Germany Frankfurt Cardioangiologisches Centrum Bethanien - CCB
K.R. Julian Chun, MD
j.chun@ccb.de
Germany Frankfurt 65929 Städt. Klinikum Frankfurt Höchst
Semi Sen, Prof. Dr.
Semi.Sen@skfh.de
Germany Hamburg Asklepios Klinik St. Georg
Karl-Heinz Kuck, MD
k.kuck@asklepios.com
Germany Hamburg Universitäres Herzzentrum
Stephan Willems, MD
willems@uke.uni-hamburg.de
Germany Hamburg 20246 Universitäres Herzzentrum Eppendorf
Stephan Willems, Prof. Dr.
willems@uke.uni-hamburg.de
Germany Hannover 30449 Klinikum Siloah
Andreas Franke, Prof. Dr.
andreas.franke@krh.eu
Germany Heidelberg 69120 Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg
Stefan Hardt, Prof. Dr.
sekretariat_katus@med.uni-heidelberg.de/stefan.hardt@med.uni-heidelberg.de
Germany Hildesheim Städt. Klinikum Hildesheim
Jürgen Tebbenjohanns, MD
j.tebbenjohanns@stk-hildesheim.de
Germany Ingolstadt 85049 Klinikum Ingolstadt
Karlheinz Seidl, Prof. Dr.
karlheinz.Seidl@klinikum-ingolstadt.de
Germany Kaiserslautern Westpfalz-Klinikum GmbH
Burghard Schumacher, MD
bschumacher@westpfalz-klinikum.de
Germany Köln 50733 St. Vinzenz Hospital Köln-Nippes
Dinh Q Nguyen, Dr.
dinh.nguyen@vinzenz-hospital.de
Germany Lübeck 23538 Universitätsklinik Schleswig-Holstein Campus Lübeck
Holger Thiele, Prof. dr.
holger.thiele@uksh.de
Germany Mainz 55131 Universitätsmedizin Mainz
Thomas Muenzel, Prof. Dr.
tmuenzel@uni-mainz.de
Germany München Isar Herzzentrum München
Thorsten Lewalter, MD
Thorsten.Lewalter@isarkliniken.de
Germany München Krankenhaus München Bogenhausen
Ellen Hoffmann, MD
ellen.hoffmann@klinikum-muenchen.de

Ellen Hoffmann, Prof. Dr.
Principal Investigator
Germany Münster Universitätsklinikum Münster
Lars Eckardt, MD
l.eckardt@uni-muenster.de
Germany Traunstein 83278 Klinikum Traunstein
Werner Moshage, Prof. Dr.
Werner.Moshage@klinikum-traunstein.de
Germany Villingen-Schwenningen 78052 Schwarzwald-Baar-Klinikum Villingen-Schwenningen GmbH
Werner Jung, Prof. Dr.
werner.jung@sbk-vs.de
Greece Athens 106 76 Evangelismos General Hospital
Michaelis Efremidis, Dr.
micefraim@gmail.com
South Africa Johannesburg 2196 Sunninghill Hospital
Anthony Stanley, MD
anthys@netactive.co.za
South Africa Panorama 7500 Panorama Medi-Clinic
Razeen R Gopal, MD
rrgopal@telkomsa.net
South Africa Parktown West 2193 Milpark Hospital
I. WP Obel, MD
proobel@netactive.co.za
Spain El Palmar - Murcia 30120 University Hospital Virgen de la Arrixaca
Arcadi Garcia Alberola, Prof. Dr.
arcadi@secardiologia.es

NCT ID: NCT01360008

Date Last Changed: January 14, 2014

DISCLAIMER: This site is run by CenterWatch, a publishing company that focuses on the clinical trials industry. The information provided in this service is designed to help patients find clinical trials that may be of interest to them, and to help patients contact the centers conducting the research. CenterWatch is neither promoting this research nor involved in conducting any of these trials. Some study summaries have been edited for clarity purposes to make them easier to understand. View more study details here.